Comedy

Today in class, we learned what comedy is and what comedy is not. What do you remember about that conversation? What surprised you? What was new to you?

~ by Mrs. Mundy on March 26, 2007.

17 Responses to “Comedy”

  1. For a Comedy i thought that it was weird that comdeys have an ending were everyone has falling in love with some one. I would of thought that some one would end up hating each other because of all the confusion.

  2. I thought it was weird that a comedy is a play with a happy ending…when I heard the play was a comedy I thought it was going to be funny.

  3. I agree with sabresfan8. When Fowler said that it was going to be a comedy, I thought it was going to be funny. I really didn’t think the play was funny at all!

  4. I remember that comedies end with a happy ending. I was suprised that in the play that they joked about love, usually it’s not something to joke about.

  5. I always thought a comedy was funny. Its weird that its just a play with a happy ending and the characters usually fall in love.

  6. comedy is usually something funny, but it is not. a comedy is something with happy ending. also, i learned that the characters have to fall in love.

  7. In my opinion comedys are something that is funny like a stand up comedian, and in midsummer night dream there tyoe of comedy is a play

  8. I thaught some parts of the play were funny but still because it has a happy ending dosnt mean that it can be called a comedy i would call this story more of a plain romance.

  9. I was suprised because I thought comedies just had to be funny or soemthing along those lines. I didnt know it’s when there’s a happy ending or when single people fall in love.

  10. I was surprised by Shakespears defination of a comedy , because people would respond to a comedy as being funny through out the whole story, and not just having a happy ending. I agree with ML36

  11. I was surprised that a comedy didn’t necessarily have to be funny, that it usually is just when the ending is “good” for the characters. I think that if there is a happy ending and the story isn’t true and doesn’t have funny parts to it, then it should be concidered more of a fairy tale.

  12. When i found out that this play was a comedy, i thought to myself, this wasn’t humorouse at all. Then i learned that a comedy is a play that ends in people loving eachother. I really wasn’t surprised by the ending because if i were the author, i would of ended it the same way. Throughout the play i was hoping it was going to end this way.

  13. I thought it was interesting to learnhe what a true comedy was. I was surprised about the characteristics of a comedy, and how it is a comedy if there is a happy ending. In my opinion a comedy is anything that makes the majority of the audience luagh.

  14. I think blogging is an interesting new thing to try rather than work sheets and review all the time but I didn’t like it that much. I just don’t like blogging that much.

  15. I was surprised that comedy isn’t always funny, that it could be serious. I thought comedy was just something that made you laugh. I was also surprised that if there is a happy ending then that is considered to be a comedy.

  16. I knew that comedy ment that it wasen’t always funny. I knew that it just ment a happy ending. But I really don’t like that deffetion of comedy. I think that a play that has a happy ending sould just be called a “happy ending play” and a funny play should be called a comedy.

  17. I was really suprised that there has to be a happy ending for a comedy. Personnaly I dont think that it should

Leave a comment